April 17, 2012

Alberta Literary Awards

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors.

The Writers Guild of Alberta presents the following nine awards as well as administers two city book awards:

• R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature This award alternates yearly between picture and chapter books

• Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

• Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction

• Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

• Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry 

• Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award

• James H. Gray Award for Short Non-Fiction

• Howard O'Hagan Award for Short Story

• Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize

The two city book awards are:
• The City of Calgary W. O. Mitchell Book Prize

• The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize

The 2012 nominees for the  
R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature 

Jacqueline Guest of Bragg Creek
for Ghost Messages
Coteau Books

Barb Howard of Bragg Creek
for The Dewpoint Show
Fitzhenry & Whiteside

Cathy Ostlere of Calgary
for Karma
Razorbill/Penguin Canada

The 2012 shortlist titles for the 
City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize  
were announced at the end of March and include one young adult title:

Cathy Ostlere
Razorbill/Penguin Canada

The winners of all awards will be announced in June.

No comments:

Post a comment