January 03, 2017

Trio of youngCanLit authors appointed to the Order of Canada

On December 30, 2016, the Governor General of Canada, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, announced 100 new appointments to the Order of Canada.  I am pleased to recognize and congratulate three youngCanLit authors who were named amongst the honourees.  They are:

Jan Andrews

author of picture books, short stories, fiction and young adult including

The Silent Summer of Kyle McGinley (Great Plains Teen Fiction, 2013)
When Apples Grew Noses and White Horse Flew: The Tales of Ti-Jean (Groundwood, 2011)
Rude Stories (Tundra, 2011)
The Twelve Days of Summer (Orca, 2007)
The Auction (Groundwood, 2007)
Winter of Peril: The Newfoundland Diary of Sophie Loveridge, Mairie's Cove, New-Found-Land 1721 (Scholastic Canada, 2005)
Very Last First Time (Groundwood, 1987)

Deborah Ellis

author of numerous fiction and non-fiction books, including

The Cat at the Wall (Groundwood, 2014)
Moon At Nine (Pajama Press, 2014)
My Name is Parvana (Groundwood, 2012)
True Blue (Pajama Press, 2011)
No Ordinary Day (Groundwood, 2011)
I am a Taxi (Groundwood, 2006)
The Heaven Shop (Groundwood, 2004)
Parvana's Journey (Groundwood, 2002)
The Breadwinner (Groundwood, 2000)

Jacqueline Guest

author of historical fiction and contemporary fiction including

Fire Fight (Book Publ. Co., 2015)
The Comic Book War (Coteau Books, 2014)
Outcasts of River Falls (Coteau Books, 2012)
Ghost Messages (Coteau Books, 2011)
Hat Trick (Lorimer, 2010)
Secret Signs (Orca, 2006)
Belle of Batoche (Orca, 2004)
Lightning Rider (Lorimer, 2000)

1 comment:

  1. This is great news. Congratulations to all three awesome writers.