March 09, 2012

B.C. Book Prizes

The BC Book Prizes are annual literary awards selected by the West Coast Prize Society for writers and illustrators who are British Columbia or Yukon residents (or have lived there for three of the last five years).  Established in 1985, the BC Book Prizes take submissions until the end of January deadline, announcing their shortlists in the award-ravaged month of March.  The award-winning books and authors/illustrators are announced at a Book Prize Soirée in May in Vancouver.  The logo of the BC Book Prizes and the book seals for short-listed and winning titles  was created from BC artist, Roy Henry Vickers's work, Eagle Full Circle (1982).

Here are the seven categories for the BC Book Prizes:
  • Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

  • Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize

  • Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize

  • Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize

  • Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize

  • Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize

  • Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award

An additional award, the Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence, which recognizes BC writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence there, is also presented at the Book Prizes Gala.


The finalists (i.e., short-listed titles) for the 2012 BC Book Prizes were announced yesterday for all seven literary awards. Below CanLit for LittleCanadians has noted those titles for the two awards dedicated to books for young readers.

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize
Awarded to the author of novels, including chapter books, aimed at juveniles and young adults, as well as non-fiction books for children (including biography) which have not been highly illustrated.
The 2012 finalists are:

Blood Red Road
by Moira Young
Doubleday Canada

I’ll Be Watching
by Pamela Porter
Groundwood Books

Nowhere Else on Earth: Standing Tall for the Great Bear Rainforest
by Caitlyn Vernon
Orca Book Publishers
The Runaway
by Glen Huser
Tradewind Books

What is Real
by Karen Rivers
Orca Book Publishers

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize
Awarded to the author and illustrator of picture books, picture story books, and illustrated non-fiction books
The 2012 finalists are:

Dalen & Gole: Scandal in Port Angus
by Mike Deas
Orca Book Publishers

Grandpa’s Girls
by Nicola I. Campbell
Illustrated by Kim LaFave
Groundwood Books

Pussycat, Pussycat, Where Have You Been?
by Dan Bar-el
Illustrated by Rae Maté
Simply Read Books 

Shake Awakes
by Robert Heidbreder
Illustrated by Marc Mongeau
Tradewind Books

When I Was Small
by Sara O'Leary
Illustrated by Julie Morstad
Simply Read Books

We look forward to the announcement of the winning titles, authors and illustrators on May 12, 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment