November 21, 2011

Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature

Congratulations to winner Iain Lawrence! 


Sponsored by the Metcalf Foundation and judged by a jury composed of Deirdre Baker, Ronald Jobe, and Julie Johnston, the Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature recognizes a writer of a body of work in children's literature.  This year, on November 1st, the Writers' Trust of Canada awarded the $20,000 Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature to Iain Lawrence. 


Check out Iain's website at Iain Lawrence for full bio, bibliography and details.

His series The High Seas Trilogy (The Wreckers, The Buccaneers, The Smugglers) and The Curse of the Jolly Stone Trilogy (The Convicts, The Cannibals, The Castaways) have grabbed many readers with his distinctive protagonists and suspenseful adventures.  Other titles, including The Giant-Slayer, Gemini Summer (a personal favourite) and The Séance take us into the more contemporary settings of North America in the 20th century, still knitting elements of history with the trials of young people, creating great stories of suspense and atmosphere.   The Winter Pony (Delacorte, 2011) has only been out a couple of weeks and is already lauded as a valuable contribution to children's literature.

Full details about this award and the citation of Lawrence's contribution can be found at 2011 Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature.

No comments:

Post a Comment